Carl Barranco ’60 Guest Speaker for Lunch with Leaders

Carl Barranco ’60 Guest Speaker for Lunch with Leaders 1Montgomery Catholic Preparatory School honored the Middle School “Students of the Week” by hosting a luncheon with Mr. Carl Barranco ’60 through their “Lunch with Leaders” program. Students of the Week are chosen by their teachers not only based on their academic record, but leadership, overall attitude, and work ethic play a major role in the selection of each student. One representative from both the seventh and eighth grades is chosen each week of the quarter. At the end of the quarter, the students are treated to a catered lunch with a community leader in a relaxed setting. Of the weekly winners, a “student of the quarter” is also selected.

Mr. Carl Barranco is a member of the Montgomery Catholic Class of 1960, is the President and Co-Managing Shareholder of Wilson, Price, Barranco, Billingsley, and Blankenship, PC in Montgomery, and is Past-President of the Montgomery Area Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Barranco shared his thoughts of leadership with the students and urged the students that leadership evolves from an early age and to get involved now. He said, “Leaders don’t really wake up one morning and say, ‘I’m a leader.’ Leadership takes time; it’s what you do, how you act, and how you conduct yourself. It starts at school, in your sports teams, and at church in your faith. It requires you to give up your time, to give back, and to sacrifice yourself. Building character is a large part of leadership and with leadership comes great responsibility.”
Students of the Week for the first quarter are seventh graders Jack Starr, Broghan Freeland, Fran Mount, Joanne Spotswood, Sydney Hash, and Zach Hulcher. Eighth grade students are Crystie Deuter, Drew Krantz, Samai Martinez, Josh Stark, Megan Foran, and Lexie Segrest. The “Student of the First Quarter” is seventh grader Jack Starr.

Pictured: Montgomery Catholic’s Middle School Students of the Week with Mr. Carl Barranco ’60 at “Lunch with Leaders.” L to R seated: Crystie Deuter, Sydney Hash, Joanne Spotswood, Broghan Freeland, and Fran Mount. L to R standing: Lexie Segrest, Drew Krantz, Mr. Carl Barranco ’60, Jack Starr, Josh Stark, Zach Hulcher, Samai Martinez, and Megan Foran.

Recent Posts